The Menzingers’ Greg Barnett: “then I learned some Ramones songs and thought, ‘You know, maybe I can do this.'”

The mind-blowing thing to me about it was that before I started playing, I thought of people who played guitar and were in bands as like gods. I never could believe how someone could remember how to play without looking at music. That was a foreign concept to me. But then I learned some Ramones songs and thought, “You know, maybe I can do this.” That really opened things up for me. I thought “Maybe I should write my own songs and start a band,” and I did. It’s nice that a 14-year-old kid can play along with a song they heard from one of their favorite bands.

via The Menzingers’ Greg Barnett on His Punk Roots | Fender Artist News

Leave a Reply

